Skip to main content
History /

PAST

The Engine Works has its own unique history dating back to 1837 and is an important part of Glasgow’s industrial heritage.

Located on the banks of the Forth and Clyde Canal in Glasgow, The Engine Works was strategically placed to best utalise the waterway to transport their goods around the world. Built in 1837 for William Walls – a prominent industrialist in Victorian Glasgow, and such was his standing that the city’s Walls Street is named after him – William Walls & Company Ltd produced crude and shale oil.

The property then changed hands, and was taken over by the Clarkson and Becket brothers in 1873 producing steam engines for boats and ships around the world. The Clarkson and Becket brothers were pioneers of their time and have been immortalised in Stephen Adam’s stained glass panels – The Engineers by Stephen Adam – dating back to 1870 these stained glass panels were possibly the most significant examples of Scottish stained glass for the next four decades.

Owned by just a handful of families over the years, the building remained in use until 2012, when it was vacated by Craig & Buchanon – unfortunately the property had been neglected for decades and had fallen into substantial disrepair.

THE ONLY LIMIT TO ITS USE IS YOUR IMAGINATION

DOWNLOAD BROCHURE
BOOK NOW

STAY IN THE KNOW WITH OUR NEWSLETTER

Consent(Required)
This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.